Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

in this section

Prof. Emeritus John Abel awarded the Eduardo Torroja Medal

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Prof. Emeritus John Abel

Prof. Emeritus John Abel, CEE, was awarded the Eduardo Torroja Medal by the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) on September 23, 2013 during its annual Symposium, held this year in Wroclaw, Poland. This is the highest honor of the IASS and is named for the renowned Spanish engineer who founded the Association of engineers and architects in 1959. Abel is past president of the group, having served two 3-year terms (2006-2012).

Torroja Medal: The Executive Council may from time to time award the Eduardo Torroja Medal to a member of nonmember of the Association in recognition of outstanding and distinguished contributions to design, construction or research of shell and/or spatial structures. On the average, one new Torroja medalist is named every two years. 

For more information about the IASS award, visit their site here

back to listing