Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

in this section

American Astronautical Society (AAS) recognizes Reed Group with best paper to the 26th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

The American Astronautical Society (AAS) and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) are honoring Cornell Professor Patrick Reed and his collaborators Lake Singh, Marc DiPrinzio, and Will Whittecar from The Aerospace Corporation for submitting the best paper to the 26th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting.  Each year the Space Flight Mechanics Committee recognizes a single paper as the top technical contribution presented at the AAS/AIAA joint international event. 

The team’s paper, entitled, “Reducing Wall-Clock Time of Metaheuristic-Driven Constellation Design with Coarse Parametric Mapping,” provides computational innovations that allow engineers to quickly understand key satellite performance tradeoffs when designing global satellite-based monitoring systems.  The team’s technical contributions reduce the computational demands for evaluating candidate satellite designs from computational years to hours while maintaining very high quality representations of their dynamics and required Earth-based controls. 

This collaborative work between Cornell and The Aerospace Corporation was part of a larger National Science Foundation supported project on the University of Illinois’s Blue Waters supercomputing system.  The broader goal of the team is to develop low-cost, long-lived satellite missions that have broad value for a wide range of continuous global monitoring applications.


back to listing