Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

in this section

ASCE Rudolph Hering Medal

Thursday, January 22, 2015

CEE senior lecturer Monroe Weber-Shirk, CEE professor Leonard Lion, and four of their students have been selected to receive the 2015 Rudolph Hering Medal. The honor is given for their 2013 paper “Novel Fluidic Control System for Stacked Rapid Sand Filters” in the July 2013 edition of the Journal of Environmental Engineering. The four student co-authors are Michael Adelman M.S. ’12, Anderson Cordero ’10 M. Eng. ’11, Jeffrey Will  ’10 M. Eng. ’11, and William Maher  ’12.

The Rudolph Hering Medal  was instituted in 1924 and is awarded by the Environmental and Water Resources Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). According to the ASCE, the medal is awarded to “the author, or authors, of the paper which contains the most valuable contribution to the increase of knowledge in, and to the advancement of, the environmental branch of the engineering profession.”

The medal will be presented to the authors during the World Environmental and Water Resources Congress in Austin, TX, May 17-21. 2015.

back to listing