Skip to main content

in this section

Brutsaert awarded highest honor from AGU

Monday, August 17, 2015

Wilfried Brutsaert, the William L. Lewis Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been awarded the
2015 William Bowie Medal – the highest honor from the American Geophysical Union.

Established in 1939, the award is given annually to one honoree in recognition for “outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research.”

Professor Brutsaert's interests have broadly covered hydrology and fluid mechanics in the environment. His activities related to atmospheric processes have been mostly with the ultimate objective of developing physically-based methods to calculate regional evaporation from natural land surfaces covered with different types of vegetation. A more recent initiative has analyzed climatic time-scale trends in different hydrologic variables, such as evaporation, groundwater storage and runoff, within the context of global change. 


More information about the William Bowie Medal is available at:

back to listing