Faculty Awards & Honors

Wilf Brutsaert
Wilf Brutsaert

Wilf Brutsaert, was awarded the 2022 Stockholm Water Prize, “the world’s most prestigious water award.” Widely known as the Nobel Prize of Water it is “awarded to people and organizations for extraordinary water-related achievements.” Brutsaert has received this honor “for innovative work on evaporation and groundwater storage that has helped improve climate modeling and technologies to estimate and measure evaporation.” To read more on the story visit https://tinyurl.com/2p8duazr

In addition, Professor Brutsaert’s well known book “Evaporation into the Atmosphere: Theory, History and Applications” (Springer Science and Business Media, 2013) has been translated into Chinese. The official announcement can be found at https://tinyurl.com/2p8pwp3e

Todd Cowen was a recipient of the 2021 College of Engineering Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Tucker Teaching Award.

Chris Earls was a recipient of the 2021 College of Engineering Daniel M. Lazar ‘29 Teaching Award.

Greeshma Gadikota was awarded an NSF Early Career Award, a 2021 College of Engineering Research Excellence award, an Army Research Office Early Career Award, and a Cornell Rising Women Innovator Award.

H. Oliver Gao was awarded the inaugural Howard Simpson Professorship title on July 1, 2021.

Ken Hover serves on the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology team to investigate the June 24, 2021 devastating partial collapse of Champlain Towers South condominium in Surfside, Florida.

Qi Li was awarded an NSF Early CAREER Award.

Phil Liu was appointed as Honorary Chair Professor of Ocean University after presenting a talk in the “Blue Ocean” lecture series on “Generation and propagation of Tsunami-like bores and resulting inundation” to students of National Taiwan Ocean University on December 13, 2021. In addition, Liu was awarded the 2021 Distinguished Alum for Academic Achievement at the National Taiwan University.

Greg McLaskey has been promoted to the rank of associate professor, with indefinite tenure, effective July 1, 2022.

Samitha Samaranayake was awarded an NSF Early CAREER Award.

Francis Vanek became a Faculty Fellow for Engaged Learning through the Office of Engagement.

Derek Warner has been promoted to the rank of full professor, effective Jan. 1, 2022.